Homemade Lara Balls

IMG_2431

I had some dates in the fridge that needed to be used up before they expired. I am all about not wasting food…just ask my fiancé. I decided to make some homemade Larabars only I formed them into balls instead of a rectangle so that it would make smaller portions. Smaller portions = moderation!

Lara Balls

1 cup – dry roasted almonds

12 – dates, pits removed

2 Tbsp – PB 2 (peanut powder)  Note: peanut butter or almond butter would work too!

1/4 cup of water

Start by grinding the almonds in a food processor. Add dates, PB2, and a little bit of water. Mix together in food processor until a paste starts to form. You may need to add more water as you go. Be sure to scrape the sides of the food processor as it will start to build around the edges. Once you get a paste, use your hands to roll into golf sized balls. Freeze until ready to eat!

My recipe made 24 balls. Each ball has around 60 calories.

Leave a comment